Day 2: Temples at Siem Reap

Posted: September 9, 2014 by randommuzings in Cambodia, South East Asia
Tags: , , ,

Today I started my 3 day affair with the temples, the main highlight of this trip. Although the temples are influenced by Indian architecture and themes, they are unique in terms of their grandiose size and the fact that they were constructed not as places of worship but as house of God and hence house the trinity- Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva long with several other deities. To the best of my knowledge, no temple in India is dedicated to the trinity together. So I will cover each temple in separate posts as I have myriad pictures and details to share on each.

Total Cost: 3 day pass: $40 (can be used over a week) +$60 for the tuk-tuk for 3 days

Temple 1: Angkor Wat at Sunrise

Woke up at 4.30 am and met my tuk-tuk driver at 5 am, despite the fact that I was severely sleep deprived from the travel over the past 2 days. We went to Angkor Wat for sunrise. I had thought that how many idiots would have left their sleep to reach the place at 5 am but I was in for a surprise. I think there would be about 1000 people there, all gathered around to watch the sunrise. I increased the count by 1, took numerous snaps and moved on to the next temple.

Leave a Reply

